Live sheep, cattle, politicians and their cruelty.

Good for those animal rights activists who harnessed themselves, by thumb locking, onto the trucks bringing the live animals into Fremantle Port.

Good on them for getting onto one of the ships of death and being solid with animals that will be disgorged into a terrifying future of torture and death somewhere in the Middle East.

I applaud their actions under the trucks as they were entering the Port. It takes guts,  principle, and commitment to do that when they are regularly assaulted and threatened with death by the authorities that protect this vile and evil trade. What sort of principle drives the cocky or trucker that raise and then transport these animals in the first place? It would seem that to cause the sickening and disgusting problem of the live animal trade is easy when you are developed from birth with a moral/ethical compass that only has money as its lode stone.

Suffering and death is met with callous disregard by these people. Just listen to the spokespeople employed to spin for the companies and people involved. Compassion seems to be a meaningless concept when considering the animals welfare when set against the notion of easy money. They can pretend to exclude themselves from the barbarous end that these animals have to endure.

I have seen the reports that the culling has restarted in Pakistan for the thousands of sheep that have become unacceptable for reasons of political and personal hatred of this country.

Australia’s politicians lie to us that their are other reasons for this travesty of an inspection and rejection regime but their words are empty of meaning or integrity as they try to justify acts of wanton cruelty. Why don’t they just admit that they are cruel, nasty perverted people who get off on watching other creatures suffer while they die.

You may think that I am going too far in my condemnation of the people responsible for this trade. Indeed, I find that these words are shocking to me as well. But it is the logical outcome that as the viciousness of this crime against the animal kingdom becomes abundantly clear then the language used to describe it will reflect that viciousness.

How many people out there can listen to the sounds of lowering animals as they are transported to the abattoir, do nothing, and not be affected to the point of suffering the loss of their connection to humanity?

I can’t. I have been around when the truck that takes unwanted horses off to become pet food, and whatever else can be rendered from their bones, and I sent them away without the horses. That night I sent them away but they came back on another night I wasn’t there. I knew they were coming again and I knew that they would eventually get what they wanted, even from me. So I packed what little I had and left the countryside realising we are a doomed race. Doomed because we are killers born with the power of intellect to merchandise slaughter. We have made it another wholesale product with a meaning and consequence that is couched in language that sanitises killing by referring to it as a mechanical process.

I feel the pain of our dilemmas and I absorb the guilt for feeding my own pets on the meat drawn from these animal husbandry practices. I realise that we cannot escape the harsh realities that surround our food production chains but I will never condone the live animal trade to overseas. If we cannot kill them here (where the people I have described above can attach themselves to those cattle trucks and speak up for these creatures with such ferocity that we feel the power of their resistance to the cruelty) then we cannot be allowed to outsource the killing elsewhere where that resistance cannot be felt.

For that I humbly tip my hat to those activists who risk their lives to draw attention to the disgusting practices that rich Australians carry out in order to remain rolling in the filthy lucre that stains their souls and twists their minds into believing that what they do carries no consequence beyond there bankster account.

Horserotovator, Saturday, October 20th 2012

Leave a Reply

